MobileNews

Google Photos tweaks and simplifies backup terminology

Google Photos

To simplify backups, Google Photos has updated two terms related to the process across the mobile and web apps as well as in support documentation.

To start with, “Backup & sync” is now just called “Backup.” This is the main setting to “enable or disable the automatic backup of your photos and videos to your Google account” and the very first item in preferences. It’s interesting how “sync” is considered a given with modern technology and cloud backups.

In that same menu, “Upload size” has been renamed to “Backup quality,” with “Original quality” and “Storage saver” unchanged.

The changes listed below have now been rolled out to all users

Google said people found the previous terms “confusing and [hopes] you’ll find the new terminology intuitive and easy to remember.” There are “no changes to how your photos and videos are stored in Google Photos.”

More on Google Photos:



Author: Abner Li
Source: 9TO5Google

Related posts
GamingNews

EA Never Knew What It Had With BioWare, and It’s All of Our Loss

GamingNews

Secretlab Reveals K/DA Firestarter Collection With New Gaming Chair and Desk Designs

GamingNews

Skate Studio Also Hit With Cuts as Scope of EA's Mass Layoffs Becomes Clearer

CryptoNews

VC Giant Andreessen Horowitz Drops ‘Crypto’ Branding From $9.8B Investment Arm