MobileNews

Google Drive will soon let you block users that share spam

Over the past few years, some malicious actors have leveraged Google Drive sharing to target people with spam-filled documents. Google now has a solution to that form of spam with user blocking in Drive.

Drive’s sharing capabilities fuel productivity and collaboration, but bad actors can abuse tools that are meant to facilitate helpful sharing. That’s why it’s important to have the necessary security controls in place to fend off these sharing threats.

When you block a spam account in Google Drive from the right-click menu (on the web), three things occur: 

  • Block another user from sharing any content with you in the future. This can be a useful control if, for example, another user has a history of sending spam or abusive content. 
  • Remove all existing files and folders shared by another user. This is an easy way to get rid of all spam or abusive content shared from a specific user at one time.
  • Remove another person’s access to your content, even if you’ve previously shared it with them.
Google Drive block spam

Google will confirm that “this person will no longer be able to interact with you in Google Drive and certain other Google products.”

The ability to block nefarious users that know your email address and other spam accounts in Google Drive will be rolling out over the coming months.

More about Google Drive:



Author: Abner Li
Source: 9TO5Google

Related posts
GamingNews

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Remake Foil Cover Preorders Sell Out at Amazon – Here's Where You Can Still Get a Copy Before Release

GamingNews

Speedrunner Breaks Super Mario Bros. World Record While Dressed as the Italian Plumber, Now Just 2 Frames From Theoretical Perfect Run

GamingNews

Is V in Edgerunners 2? Is There a Cyberpunk 2077 Canon Ending? And What About Season 3? We Asked the Showrunner in a New Interview

CryptoNews

Binance Hack Funds Spread Across 12,000 Wallets in Under Four Days